Peer Evaluation EA

SAS successfully passes EA evaluation

The European co-operation for Accreditation (EA) thoroughly evaluated Swiss Accreditation Service (SAS) from 21 to 25 January 2019. The EA team, consisting of representatives of European accreditation bodies, assessed SAS' activities at its Bern location and accompanied SAS assessment teams during assessments of conformity assessment bodies (CAB) all over Switzerland. The SAS achieved an overall good mark for its seventh international evaluations.

The SAS assesses and accredits CAB on the basis of international standards and technical specifications. The accreditation aims to increase trust in the competence and services of the accredited CAB around the world.

As a national accreditation body and members of the EA, the SAS undergoes regular peer evaluations, in other words an evaluation amongst equals. The last evaluation of this kind before this most recent one took place in 2015. This assessment is based on substantiated and transparent assessment criteria and methods and is binding for the so-called "signatory status" as part of multilateral agreements (multilateral agreements, MLA, and multilateral recognition arrangements, MRA) by the EA, International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) and International Accreditation Forum (IAF).

It is checked if the national accreditation body meets the requirements of the international standard EN ISO/IEC 17011 "General requirements for accreditation services which accredit conformity assessment bodies" and the binding documents by the EA, ILAC and IAF and applies these in its own accreditation system. This specifically affects requirements for aspects such as management systems, personnel resources and their professional competences, the order-specific use of external experts, the performance of evaluations and related reporting, the coverage of all elements of a standard and technical areas of applicability, and the decision-making process regarding the accreditation process of the national accreditation body.

The SAS once again successfully completed this evaluation process in practice. Thus, the multilateral agreements in the areas of calibrations, tests, medical examinations, and the certification of products, persons and management systems remain valid.

This will ensure again the acknowledgement of national accreditation systems and resulting conformity assessment services. The reports and certificates from accredited CAB are recognised globally, which promotes trust in the quality of the respective products and services. The MLA and MRA of the EA, ILAC and IAF therefore make a major contribution to reducing technical barriers to trade. However, this requires standardised and traceable methods within the corresponding national accreditation systems and a regular certification by independent and impartial third parties as part of peer evaluations.

Last modification 19.06.2020

Top of page

Peer Evaluation EA

SAS besteht Evaluation durch EA mit Erfolg

Vom 21. bis 25. Januar 2019 wurde die Schweizerische Akkreditierungsstelle (SAS) durch die European
co-operation for Accreditation (EA) auf Herz und Nieren geprüft. Das EA-Team, bestehend aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern europäischer Akkreditie­rungsstellen, überprüfte die Tätigkeit der SAS an ihrem Standort in Bern und begleitete Begutachtungsteams der SAS an Begutachtungen von Konformitätsbewertungs­stellen (KBS) in der ganzen Schweiz. Die SAS erhielt für ihre siebte internationale Evaluation insgesamt ein gutes Zeugnis.

Die SAS begutachtet und akkreditiert KBS aufgrund internationaler Normen sowie technischer Vorgaben. Die Akkreditierung hat die weltweite Stärkung des Vertrauens in die Kompetenz und Dienstleistungen der akkreditierten KBS zum Ziel.

Als nationale Akkreditierungsstelle und Mitglied der EA unterzieht sich die SAS regelmässig einer „Peer Evaluation" bzw. einer „Beurteilung unter Gleichrangigen" - vor dieser aktuellen Beurteilung zuletzt im Jahre 2015. Diese Beurteilung erfolgt auf der Grundlage fundierter und transparenter Bewertungskriterien und -verfahren und hat einen bindenden Charakter für den sogenannten „Signatory-Status" im Rahmen von Multilateralen Abkommen (Multilateral Agreement, MLA und Multilateral Recognition Arrangements, MRA) der EA, der International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) sowie des International Accreditation Forum (IAF).

Dabei wird überprüft, ob die nationale Akkreditierungsstelle die Anforderungen der internationalen Norm ISO/IEC 17011 "Konformitätsbewertung - Allgemeine Anforderungen an Akkreditierungsstellen, die Konformitätsbewertungsstellen akkreditieren" und der verbindlichen Dokumente der EA, der ILAC und des IAF erfüllt und im eigenen Akkreditierungssystem anwendet. Konkret betrifft dies beispielsweise Anforderungen an das Managementsystem, an die personellen Ressourcen und deren Fachkompetenz, an den mandatsbezogenen Einsatz von externen Begutachtern, an die Durchführung von Begutachtungen und zur zugehörigen Berichterstattung, an die vollständige Abdeckung der Normelemente und technischen Geltungsbereiche sowie an die Entscheidungsfindung im Zusammenhang mit dem Akkreditierungsverfahren der nationalen Akkreditierungsstelle.

Diesen Evaluationsprozess hat die SAS nun wiederum erfolgreich in der Praxis durchlaufen. Damit bleiben die multilateralen Vereinbarungen im Bereich Kalibrieren, Prüfen, medizinische Untersuchungen, Zertifizierung von Produkten, Personen und Managementsystemen sowie Inspektion weiterhin gültig.

Damit wird die gegenseitige Anerkennung nationaler Akkreditierungssysteme und der daraus resultierenden Dienstleistungen im Bereich der Konformitätsbewertung wiederum sichergestellt. Die Berichte und Zertifikate akkreditierter KBS werden weltweit anerkannt und das Vertrauen in die Qualität der entsprechenden Produkte und Dienstleistungen dadurch gefördert. Die MLA und MRA im Rahmen der EA, der ILAC und des IAF tragen damit wesentlich zum Abbau technischer Handelshemmnisse bei. Dies erfordert jedoch uniforme und nachvollziehbare Vorgehensweisen in den jeweiligen nationalen Akkreditierungssystemen sowie eine periodische Bestätigung durch unabhängige und unparteiische Dritte im Rahmen von Peer Evaluationen.

Letzte Änderung 19.06.2020

Zum Seitenanfang