FAQ

Question 1: What is the difference between accreditation and certification?

Accreditation = Confirmation and recognition of technical competence
Confirmation by a third party that sets out formally that a conformity assessment body is competent to carry out specific conformity
assessment tasks (see ISO/IEC 17000 5.6).

Certification = Confirmation that prescribed requirements are fulfilled
Procedure by which a third party confirms in writing that products, processes, systems or persons comply with prescribed requirements (see ISO/IEC 17000, 5.5).

Certification is one of the different types of conformity assessment (see question 2).

The difference between the two seemingly similar activities lies in the fact that in the first case - with accreditation - the formal recognition of competence is central. This requires proven technical knowledge and therefore the consultation of a technical expert for the scope to be accredited. In the second case - with certification - it is mainly a question of determining compliance with a standard or normative basis.

Question 2: What are conformity assessment bodies?

A conformity assessment body is a body that performs conformity assessment.

Conformity assessment: Demonstration that specified requirements relating to a product, process, system, person or body are fulfilled. The requirements can be defined in legal decrees, standards, and manufacturer's documentation or otherwise.

All conformity assessment bodies have to fulfil the specified requirements for accreditation. These are specified in the ISO/IEC 17000 series of standards and other relevant standards for accreditation.

Today we can distinguish between the following types of conformity assessment (OAccD, Appendix 2):

  • Testing and calibration laboratories in accordance with ISO/IEC 17025;
  • Medical laboratories in accordance with ISO 15189;
  • Producers of reference materials according to ISO Guide 34;
  • Proficiency test providers in accordance with ISO/IEC 17043;
  • Inspection bodies in accordance with ISO/IEC 17020;
  • Certification bodies for products in accordance with ISO/IEC 17065;
  • Certification bodies for management systems in accordance with ISO/IEC 17021;
  • Certification bodies for persons in accordance with ISO/IEC 17024.

 

Question 3: Who can become accredited, what are the requirements that must be met for accreditation? Can a foreign organisation or a foreign company become accredited under Swiss accreditation?

In the Ordinance on the Swiss Accreditation System and the Notification of Testing, Conformity Assessment, Registration and  Matriculation Bodies (Accreditation and Notification Ordinance, AkkBV; SR 946.512) of the 17th June 1996, Article 4 stipulates:

Paragraph 1: Accreditation is open to:
a. testing and conformity assessment bodies of businesses that are listed in the Swiss trade register and which are located in  Switzerland;
b. state-owned conformity assessment bodies in Switzerland.

Paragraph 2: Taking into account Switzerland's global national and foreign economic interests, accreditation is also open to:
a. conformity assessment bodies which are registered abroad and located in Switzerland;
b. foreign conformity assessment bodies.

According to Article 6 of the European Union (EU) Regulation "Regulation (EC) No 765/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 9 July 2008 setting out the requirements for accreditation and market surveillance relating to the marketing of products and repealing Regulation (EEC) No 339/93" national accreditation bodies do not compete with other national accreditation bodies.

The Swiss Accreditation Service (SAS) has no resources to grant accreditation to legal entities abroad. If a Swiss organisation or company operates offices abroad, and the latter operate under the accreditation granted to the parent company in Switzerland, the SAS is required to also assess these offices. Where suitable, the SAS will work with the local national accreditation body. Further details are provided in SAS document 738.

Question 4: How is a body accredited or how is the accreditation process carried out?

The Swiss Accreditation Service (SAS) has described the accreditation process in detail in its guidelines and reference documents. These and other documents such as the "Ordinance on the Swiss Accreditation System and the Notification of Testing, Conformity Assessment, Registration and Matriculation Bodies (Accreditation and Notification Ordinance, AkkBV; SR 946.512)", registration forms and detailed requirements for accreditation bodies are available on this website.

The SAS accreditation process can be summarized as follows:

  • Registration
  • Information talk (serves to provide mutual comprehensive information)
  • Preliminary talk (serves for the preparation of the assessment and the final definition of the scope of the accreditation)
  • Assessment
  • Accreditation
  • As a rule annual surveillance
  • Renewal of accreditation at the latest after five years

Question 5: How can I find laboratories accredited in a specific field?

Using our search engine under the menu item "Accredited bodies"/ "Search" you can search for the accredited bodies using different criteria:

  • select the appropriate term under "Scope" and/or
  • enter a keyword, a standard, a procedure, etc. in the "Search for" field and/or
  • select the appropriate "Accreditation type".
  • If you are looking for a particular accredited body, the type and number of which you know, you can select the appropriate "Accreditation type" and enter the number in the "Accreditation number" field.

Your search you will return a list of results containing the bodies to which the search criteria apply. For each body, direct access (download) is provided to the records on the detailed scope of accreditation (in each of the available language versions).

Question 6: Have all sectors of conformity assessment in Switzerland been recognised by EU States under the bilateral agreements I?

No, not yet all. The following links lead to the agreement itself respectively to the list of the sectors as well as the conformity assessment bodies notifed by Switzerland and recognised by the EU:

Question 7: We have an accreditation in our country. Is this valid and recognised in Switzerland?

An accreditation may be recognised, if it was issued by an accreditation body which has signed a Multilateral Agreement (MLA) with the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) in the area of certification or with the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) in the remaining areas or which has an analogous MLA with a regional accreditation organisation which is a member of the corresponding aforementioned international organizations. In Europe this is the European co-operation for Accreditation (EA).

Question 8: Is a management system which complies with the relevant requirements of the accreditation standards equivalent to an ISO 9001  management system?

Testing, calibration and medical laboratories as well as inspection bodies:
In 2009 and 2013, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) and the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) confirmed explicitly in two jointly published statements that any management system that complies with the requirements of ISO/IEC 17025 (general testing laboratories) respectively ISO 15189 (medical laboratories) respectively ISO/IEC 17020 (inspection bodies), also meets the basic ISO 9001 requirements (see "Downloads" at the bottom of this page).

Certification bodies for management systems, persons and products:
The most recent editions of the accreditation standards for certification bodies for management systems, persons and products offer the bodies the option of operating a management system which is in strict accordance with ISO 9001 or a simpler management system that meets the minimum requirements listed in the standards. In the first case, the management system must therefore meet all requirements of the ISO 9001. With an accreditation this is confirmed. In the second case, a management system meets the ISO 9001 requirements in a few areas at most, but not in its entirety.

 

Question 9: How can you find out whether a particular product should be certified?

A product must generally be certified if a national or European law, a regulation or a normative basis explicitly require this.

In this case, in Switzerland, further information can be obtained from the Federal Office in charge of the specific product.

At European level, certification is mandatory for those products that require the CE-mark to be admitted to the market. In this case, the bodies that have been notified in Brussels - the so-called Notified Bodies - are involved. These must usually be accredited.

Question 10: How can the validity of certificates which have been issued by certification authorities in the country or abroad, be controlled?

On each certificate, the following information must be included, which allows the certificate itself and the issuing certification authority to be identified:

  • certificate identification number;
  • name and address of the certification body which issued the certificate;
  • name and address of the organisation, the company, to which the certificate was issued.
  • If the certificate was granted under an accreditation, the appropriate accreditation symbol must also appear together with an accreditation number.

With this information, the validity of the certificate can be checked with the relevant certification body. The validity of the accreditation of the scope of certification in question can be checked with the corresponding accreditation body.

Question 11: We have developed our own certification system and want to use it under the accreditation. Is this possible and how can we do it?

In principle, this is possible; however the certification system must be "suitable for accreditation". In order to do this, the Swiss Accreditation Service (SAS) must verify the "suitability for accreditation" of the certification system. Only then can a corresponding request for accreditation for the system be made. This procedure is mandatory for all private-sector certification schemes. Our Technical Certification Manager will be happy to inform you of the detailed procedure.

Certification systems which are published in the form of an international or national standard, a law or administrative regulation shall, as a rule, be considered "suitable for accreditation."

Question 12: We are a consulting company and in order to diversify we also wish to offer training and certifications in the future. Is this possible, in  principle?

Training may be offered, provided it is not applicable to/subject to the requirement for subsequent certification and does not affect the certification services in any other unauthorized manner. The accreditation standards for certification (ISO/IEC 17021, 17024,  17065) are decisive in their respective scopes.

A certification body and any part of the same legal entity shall not offer or provide consulting services. Advice this context means all commercial consulting services which go beyond the support of certification customers in the certification process.

Question 13: Which requirements are used to accredit higher education institutions or diplomats in Switzerland?

Accreditation of higher education institutions or personnel in the diplomatic corps is based on entirely different principles and requirements than those of conformity assessment bodies. These accreditation systems have nothing to do with each other. The term accreditation is not a protected term and may be defined differently depending on requirements and area of application.

Question 14: What ist the difference between "accredited" and "non-accredited" certificates?

By issuing a certificate, a certification body confirms that a certified customer meets the requirements of a specified
certification programme.

However, this does not guarantee that the certification body complies with the requirements for the issuance of
certificates. The stakeholders have to be able to trust the statement of the certification body.

A certification body whose competence has been checked and confirmed by a (mostly governmental) monitoring body, such as
the Swiss Accreditation Service SAS, issues accredited certificates. Such accreditation confirms aspects such as reliability, independence, impartiality and professional competence of the certification body with regard to the entire certification process, the certified standard and the industrial sector of the customer.

An accredited certification is therefore an instrument where all players (certificate issuer(s), certified bodies, legislator and other stakeholders) cooperate in order to ensure quality and reliability.  

Downloads

Last modification 09.06.2017

Top of page

https://www.sas.admin.ch/content/sas/en/home/akkreditierung/faq.html

Questions fréquentes

Question 1 : Qu'est-ce que l'accréditation et en quoi se distingue-t-elle de la certification ?

Accréditation = Confirmation et reconnaissance de la compétence technique
Confirmation par une tierce partie, reconnaissant formellement qu'un organisme d'évaluation de la conformité possède la  compétence d'exécuter des tâches spécifiques d'évaluation de la conformité (ISO/CEI 17000, 5.6).

Certification = Confirmation de l'accomplissement d'exigences prescrites
Procédure selon laquelle une tierce partie confirme par écrit que des produits, des processus, des systèmes ou des personnes respectent les exigences prescrites (voir également ISO/CEI 17000, 5.5).

La certification constitue l'un des différents types d'évaluation de la conformité (voir question 2).

Certes, les deux activités présentent une certaine similitude, mais elles se différencient comme il suit : l'accréditation concentre son action sur la reconnaissance formelle de la compétence, ce qui exige des connaissances techniques approfondies et partant, le recours à un expert pour chaque secteur accrédité ; la certification a surtout pour objet d'attester qu'une activité est conforme à une norme ou à des bases normatives.

Question 2 : Qu'est-ce qu'un organisme d'évaluation de la conformité ?

Un organisme d'évaluation de la conformité est un organe chargé de procéder à des évaluations de la conformité.

Définition de l'évaluation de la conformité : constater que les exigences prescrites pour un produit, un processus, un système, une personne ou un organe sont satisfaites. Les exigences peuvent être fixées par des dispositions légales, des normes, des documents du constructeur ou d'autres moyens.

Afin de pouvoir accréditer, les organismes d'accréditation doivent tous respecter les exigences fixées dans les normes ISO/CEI de la série 17000, ainsi que dans d'autres normes pertinentes pour l'accréditation.

Nous distinguons aujourd'hui les évaluations de la conformité (voir OAccD, annexe 2) des types suivants :

  • Laboratoires d'essais et d'étalonnage, selon ISO/CEI 17025 ;
  • Laboratoires médicaux, selon ISO 15189 ;
  • Fabricants de matériaux de référence, selon le Guide ISO 34 ;
  • Fournisseurs d'essais d'aptitude et interlaboratoire, selon ISO/CEI 17043 ;
  • Organismes d'inspection, selon ISO/CEI 17020 ;
  • Organismes de certification de produits, selon ISO/CEI 17065 ;
  • Organismes de certification de systèmes de management, selon ISO/CEI 17021 ;
  • Organismes de certification de personnes, selon ISO/CEI 17024.

Question 3 : Qui peut se faire accréditer et quelles sont les conditions à satisfaire pour une accréditation ? Une organisation ou une entreprise étrangère peut-elle se faire accréditer en Suisse ?

L'Ordonnance du 17 juin 1996 sur le système suisse d'accréditation et la désignation de laboratoires d'essais et d'organismes  d'évaluation de la conformité, d'enregistrement et d'homologation (Ordonnance sur l'accréditation et la désignation ; ou RS 946.512) prescrit en son article 4 :

Alinéa 1 : Peuvent être accrédités :
a. les organismes d'évaluation de la conformité qui dépendent d'entreprises inscrites au registre du commerce suisse et qui ont leur domicile en Suisse ;
b. les organismes d'évaluation de la conformité publics suisses.

Alinéa 2 : Peuvent également être accrédités, compte tenu des intérêts de l'économie nationale et des relations économiques extérieures de la Suisse :
a. les organismes d'évaluation de la conformité qui dépendent d'entreprises enregistrées à l'étranger et qui ont leur domicile en Suisse ;
b. les organismes d'évaluation de la conformité étrangers.

Pour sa part, le " Règlement (CE) No 765/2008 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 9 juillet 2008 fixant les prescriptions  relatives à l'accréditation et à la surveillance du marché pour la commercialisation des produits et abrogeant le règlement (CEE) No 339/93 du Conseil " dispose, en son article 6, que " Les organismes nationaux d'accréditation n'entrent pas en concurrence avec d'autres organismes nationaux d'accréditation ".

Le Service d'accréditation suisse (SAS) ne dispose pas de ressources pour accréditer des personnes morales à l'étranger. Lorsqu'une organisation ou une entreprise suisse exploite des filiales à l'étranger et que ces dernières exercent leurs activités sous l'accréditation accordée en Suisse à leur maison-mère, le SAS à l'obligation d'évaluer également ces filiales. Il collabore avec les organismes  nationaux locaux d'accréditation, dans la mesure où ces derniers remplissent les conditions exigées. Voir également d'autres informations détaillées sous le document SAS 738.

Question 4 : Comment un organisme est-il accrédité et comment se déroule la procédure d'accréditation ?

Le Service d'accréditation suisse (SAS) a décrit en détail la procédure d'accréditation dans ses guides et ses documents de référence. Ces documents, de même que d'autres, tels que l' " Ordonnance du 17 juin 1996 sur le système suisse d'accréditation et la désignation de laboratoires d'essais et d'organismes d'évaluation de la conformité, d'enregistrement et d'homologation ", abrégée Ordonnance  sur l'accréditation et la désignation (OAccD), ainsi que des documents d'inscription et des dispositions détaillées pour les organismes accrédités sont disponibles sur notre site internet.

En résumé, les procédures d'accréditation du SAS se présentent comme suit :

  • Inscription
  • Discussion d'information (permet un échange exhaustif et réciproque d'informations)
  • Visite préliminaire (permet de préparer l'évaluation et de déterminer définitivement la portée de l'accréditation)
  • Evaluation
  • Accréditation
  • Surveillance exercée, en règle générale, chaque année
  • Réaccréditation, après cinq ans au plus tard

Question 5 : Comment puis-je trouver des organismes accrédités pour un domaine précis ?

Vous pouvez recourir à notre moteur de recherche qui vous met en lien avec la fenêtre de navigation " Organismes accrédités " / " Recherche ". Vous pouvez alors découvrir les organismes accrédités que vous désirés, sur la base de différents critères de recherche.

  • Dans le champ " Domaine ", choisissez l'information désirée et/ou
  • dans le champ " Rechercher ", indiquez un mot-clé, une norme, une procédure etc. et/ou
  • dans le champ " Type d'accréditation ", choisissez le type correspondant.
  • Si vous cherchez un organisme accrédité déterminé, dont vous connaissez le type ou le numéro d'accréditation, vous pouvez choisir directement le type d'accréditation en question ou indiquer le numéro de celui-ci dans le champ " Numéro  d'accréditation ".

Comme résultat de votre recherche, vous obtiendrez une liste des organismes correspondants aux critères de recherche que vous aurez donnés. Pour chaque organisme, vous aurez un accès direct (Download) au registre complet de la portée de l'accréditation (à chaque fois dans les versions linguistiques disponibles).

Question 6 : Les accords bilatéraux I entraînent-ils la reconnaissance par les Etats de l'UE de toutes les évaluations de la conformité effectuées en Suisse ?

Non, toutes les évaluations ne sont pas reconnues. Les liens ci-dessous vous conduisent aux accords eux-mêmes ou à la liste des secteurs et des organismes d'évaluation de la conformité désignés par la Suisse et reconnus par l'UE :

Question 7 : Nous disposons d'une accréditation dans notre pays X. Cette accréditation est-elle valable et reconnue en Suisse ?

Une accréditation peut faire l'objet d'une reconnaissance lorsqu'elle a été accordée par un organisme accrédité ayant signé un accord multilatéral (Multilateral Agreement, MLA) avec une organisation internationale comme l'International Accreditation Forum (IAF), dans le domaine de la certification, ou avec l'International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC), dans les autres domaines, ou  disposant d'un accord MLA similaire avec une organisation régionale d'accréditation, qui est membre de l'une des organisations  internationales correspondantes indiquées ci-dessus. En Europe, il s'agit de l'European co-operation for Accreditation (EA).

Question 8 : Un système de management qui satisfait aux exigences pertinentes des normes d'accréditation a-t-il la même valeur  qu'un système de management certifié ISO 9001 ?

Laboratoires d'essais, d'étalonnage, laboratoires médicaux et organismes d'inspection :
Dans deux communications communes, publiées en 2009 et 2013, l'International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO),  l'International Accreditation Forum (IAF) et l'International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) ont confirmé expressément qu'un système de management correspondant aux exigences des normes ISO/CEI 17025 (laboratoires d'essais en général) resp. ISO 15189 (laboratoires médicaux) resp. ISO/CEI 17020 (organismes d'inspection), est réputé satisfaire également aux exigences  fondamentales d'ISO 9001 (voir "Downloads" ci-dessous).

Organismes de certification de systèmes de management, de personnes et de produits :
L'édition la plus récente des normes d'accréditation d'organismes de certification de systèmes de management, de personnes et de produits, offre à ces organismes la possibilité de faire appliquer un système de management selon les exigences strictes d'ISO 9001 ou de mettre en place un système de management plus simple, lorsque celui-ci remplit les conditions minimales fixées dans les normes.Dans le premier cas, le système de management doit impérativement satisfaire aux exigences posées par ISO 9001. C'est l'accréditation qui le confirme. Dans le second cas, le système de management doit remplir les exigences d'ISO 9001 tout au plus dans certains domaines, mais pas dans leur totalité.

Questions 9 : Comment peut-on déterminer si un produit défini doit être certifié ?

En principe, un produit doit être certifié si une loi nationale ou européenne,  une ordonnance ou une base normative le demandent expressément.

Dans ce cas, en Suisse, l'Office fédéral compétent pour le produit spécifique peut vous fournir des informations plus détaillées.

L'Europe, pour sa part, exige obligatoirement la certification de chaque produit nécessitant le logo CE pour être commercialisé. A cet effet, ce sont les organismes notifiés à Bruxelles - appelés " Notified Bodies " - disposant en règle générale d'une accréditation obligatoire, qui entrent en action.

Questions 10 : Comment peut-on vérifier l'authenticité des certificats de conformité qui ont été délivrés en Suisse ou à l'étranger par des organismes de certification ?

Chaque certificat de conformité doit obligatoirement comporter, entre autres, les informations qui permettent d'identifier le certificat lui-même, ainsi que l'organisme ayant délivré la certification, à savoir :

  • Le numéro d'identification du certificat de conformité ;
  • Le nom et l'adresse de l'organisme de certification qui a délivré le certificat de conformité ;
  • Le nom et l'adresse de l'organisation ou de l'entreprise bénéficiaire du certificat de conformité ;
  • Au cas où le certificat de conformité a été accordé sous l'accréditation, il faut y relever également la marque de l'accréditation correspondante avec un numéro d'accréditation.

Ces indications vous permettent de vérifier, en tout temps, auprès de l'organisme de certification concerné, l'authenticité du certificat de conformité ou, auprès de l'organisme d'accréditation, la validité de l'accréditation pour le domaine de certification.

Question 11 : Nous avons développé notre propre système de certification et voudrions le mettre en œuvre sous l'accréditation. Est-ce possible et, le cas échéant, que devons-nous entreprendre ?

C'est en principe possible mais le système de certification doit être " apte à l'accréditation ". Pour vérifier cela, il faut que le Service d'accréditation suisse (SAS) examine le système de certification en question quant à son aptitude à être accrédité. Ensuite seulement, vous pouvez déposer une demande d'accréditation pour le système. Cette procédure est obligatoire pour tous les systèmes de certification de droit privé. Notre responsable technique de la certification vous renseigne bien volontiers sur les détails de la  procédure à suivre.

En règle générale, sont considérés comme " aptes à l'accréditation " les systèmes de certification publiés selon les formes requises par une norme internationale ou nationale, ainsi que par une loi ou une ordonnance des autorités compétentes.

Question 12 : Nous sommes une entreprise de conseils et voudrions offrir à l'avenir également, des cours de formations et de certifications, afin de nous diversifier. Peut-on par principe en recevoir l'autorisation ?

Les cours de formation peuvent être offerts, pour autant que ces cours ne constituent pas une condition pour l'obtention ultérieure de la certification ou pour autant qu'ils n'influencent pas sur les prestations de service de certification d'une autre manière prohibée. Les normes d'accréditation du domaine de la certification (ISO/CEI 17021, 17024, 17065) sont déterminantes à cet égard.

Une organisation n'est pas autorisée à offrir des conseils, si elle-même ou certains de ses secteurs accordent également des certifications. Sont considérés comme conseils, à cet égard, toutes les prestations commerciales de conseils, allant au-delà d'un soutien à des clients pour une certification dans le cadre de la procédure de certification.

Question 13 : Sur la base de quelles exigences les hautes écoles ou les diplomates sont-ils accrédités en Suisse ?

L'accréditation des hautes écoles ou des personnes du corps diplomatique obéit à des principes et des exigences totalement différents de ceux et celles appliquées par les organismes d'évaluation de la conformité. Ces systèmes d'accréditation n'ont rien en commun. La notion d'accréditation n'est pas une marque protégée. Elle peut se définir différemment, selon les besoins et en fonction des domaines d'application.

Question 14 : Quelle est la différence entre les certificats « accrédités » et « non accrédités ?

En établissant un certificat, l’organisme de certification confirme qu’un de ses clients certifiés satisfait aux exigences d’un programme de certification déterminé.  

Cela ne garantit cependant pas que l’organisme de certification respecte les exigences pour l’octroi d’un certificat. Les groupes d’intérêt doivent se fier aux déclarations de l’organisme de certification.  

Si la compétence de l’organisme de certification est vérifiée et confirmée par un organisme de surveillance d’Etat (p. ex. par le Service d’accréditation suisse SAS), l’organisme de certification obtient alors l’accréditation et les certificats établis sont munis du symbole d’accréditation (dans le langage courant : les certificats sont accrédités. Cette accréditation confirme, entre autres, la fiabilité, l’indépendance, l’impartialité et la compétence technique de l’organisme de certification pour l’ensemble du processus de certification, du standard certifié et du domaine d’activité du client.  

La certification accréditée est donc un instrument dans lequel tous les acteurs (fournisseurs de certificats, organismes certifiés, législateurs et autres intéressés) collaborent pour garantir la qualité et la fiabilité.

Downloads

Dernière modification 09.06.2017

Début de la page

https://www.sas.admin.ch/content/sas/fr/home/akkreditierung/faq.html